The 2018 DTM season is extraordinarily successful for Mercedes-Benz: Gary Paffett wins the drivers’ title for the second time after 2005 and becomes DTM champion. This is rounded off by taking third place in the second race at Hockenheimring on 14 October 2018. Mercedes-AMG Motorsport also wins the 2018 Team and Manufacturers’ Championships. All in all, 2018 sees the Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM team claim nine race victories (including five one-two wins and a total of 28 podium positions), twelve fastest race laps and 14 pole positions. This level of performance underscores the fact that Mercedes-AMG Motorsport is the most successful team in DTM history. Ever since Mercedes entered the DTM as a works team, the Stuttgart-based brand has won eleven driver championships with a total of 195 victories and 14 manufacturer titles. At the pinnacle of its success, Mercedes-AMG withdraws from the DTM at the close of the 2018 season to get involved in the Formula E racing series starting in 2019. Gary Paffett’s C 63 DTM (C 205) can now be seen in the Mercedes-Benz Museum.

The Mercedes-Benz Museum’s permanent exhibition of three DTM racing touring cars commemorates three decades of DTM history: the 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II (W 201) helps Klaus Ludwig win the DTM Championship in 1992. The AMG Mercedes C-Class racing touring car (W 202) from 1995 allows Bernd Schneider to claim the DTM Championship in the same year. It is the first of a total of five DTM Championship titles that Schneider wins in the Mercedes-AMG. Gary Paffett’s C 63 DTM is now the latest winning racing car.

By 29 April 2019, four more DTM Championship cars will be on display in the multi-storey car park of the Mercedes-Benz Museum: from 1994 (Klaus Ludwig), 2001 (Bernd Schneider), 2005 (Gary Paffett) and 2010 (Paul di Resta). The Mercedes-Benz 2.3-16 DTM touring car, which Mercedes used to enter the DTM in 1988, will also be showcased.

And the next new addition to the steep raceway bend in the Mercedes-Benz Museum has already been announced: a Mercedes-AMG F1 W09 EQ Power+ Formula 1 racing car, which is scheduled to further liven up the permanent exhibition sometime later in 2019. This car claimed the fifth Formula 1 one-two win in a row. From 2014 onwards, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport has won the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championship every single year. For World Champion Lewis Hamilton, 2018 marked his fifth title.

The Mercedes-Benz Museum is open Tuesdays to Sundays from 9 am to 6 pm. Last admission is at 5 pm. Registration, reservations and latest information: Monday to Sunday from 9 am to 6 pm by telephone on +49 (0)711-30000, by email to or online at

Source: Mercedes-Benz Museum