Gary Paffett (Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Class) won the second round of the 2009 DTM at the Lausitzring. Bruno Spengler (Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Class) came home second and completed a 1-2 victory for the Mercedes-Benz C-Class. It is the 11th DTM race win for the 2005 Champion Gary Paffett and the 147th for Mercedes-Benz in their 312th race since 1988. Like in 2004, when Gary Paffett won at the Lausitzring (but was disqualified afterwards) he had started from seventh on the grid and moved up to the top.

Paul Di Resta (AMG Mercedes C-Class) finished fourth, Jamie Green (Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Class) ended up sixth and Maro Engel (GQ AMG Mercedes C-Class) came home eighth – thus, five Mercedes-Benz C-Class cars finished in the points. Behind them, Mathias Lauda (stern AMG Mercedes C-Class), Ralf Schumacher (Trilux AMG Mercedes C-Class) and Susie Stoddart (TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Class) followed in positions nine to 11 respectively.

A total of 75,000 spectators attended the 2009 DTM’s second round at the Lausitzring during the weekend.

The start: Paul Di Resta was second on the grid whilst Ralf Schumacher started from the back of the field after he had skipped qualifying due to an engine change. Di Resta lost one position and was third after the opening lap; Bruno Spengler followed in fifth place ahead of Gary Paffett, Maro Engel and Jamie Green. Ralf Schumacher improved to 17th place. Mathias Lauda’s car was damaged at the left rear in a first-lap collision.
Lap 5: Ralf Schumacher was 16th behind Susie Stoddart.
Lap 8: Gary Paffett drove in sixth place 4.7sec behind leader Ekström.
Lap 11: Ralf Schumacher made up four positions and was now 12th.
Lap 12: First pit stops of Paul Di Resta, Maro Engel and Jamie Green. Bruno Spengler, Mathias Lauda, Ralf Schumacher and Susie Stoddart followed one lap later.
Lap 19: Maro Engel pitted for the second time. Paul Di Resta came in two laps later and Mathias Lauda another lap later.
Lap 24: Gary Paffett pitted from the lead and maintained his top position ahead of Bruno Spengler. Ralf Schumacher and Susie Stoddart completed their respective second routine stops.
Lap 34: Second pit stop of Gary Paffett. He resumed ahead of Ekström.
Lap 35: Jamie Green came in for his second stop.
Lap 37: Bruno Spengler who was in the lead for three laps completed his final stop; he also rejoined the race ahead of Ekström.
Lap 38: After all drivers had completed their two mandatory pit stops, Gary Paffett held the lead ahead of Bruno Spengler, Ekström and Paul Di Resta. Jamie Green was sixth and Maro Engel eighth.
Finish (lap 52): Gary Paffett took his second victory at the Lausitzring, Bruno Spengler came home second, 1.1sec behind.

Gary Paffett (2009 Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Class) winner: “I am really happy about my victory today. I always knew that our C-Class is a great car and I was confident to achieve a great result today and that was what we did. Thank you to my team – they had the optimum strategy which they executed perfectly.“

Bruno Spengler (2009 Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Class) second: “I’m completely satisfied with second position and eight championship points today – not a bad result from fifth on the grid. In the closing stages I was faster than Gary, but not fast enough to overtake. Congratulations to him on his win. I now look forward to the next race at the Norisring where I won already twice – I will give it my all again.”

Paul Di Resta (2009 AMG Mercedes C-Class) fourth: “From the beginning I got stuck behind the Audis and was not able to pass – that was annoying. Gary and Bruno overtook me during their pit stops – they made a good job and deserved win and second place. Congratulations to both.”

Jamie Green (2008 Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Class) sixth: “Unfortunately, I lost several positions at the start. However, particularly in my second stint I was underway very fast and was able to catch up. So it’s OK to finish sixth with the last year’s C-Class.”

Maro Engel (2008 GQ AMG Mercedes C-Class) eighth: “Another good result and another point for me. Unfortunately, my car suffered from oversteer, otherwise a better outcome might have been possible.”
Mathias Lauda (2008 stern AMG Mercedes C-Class) ninth: “It’s a shame. After the opening lap, my car was severely damaged at the left rear because Prémat and Kristensen had hit me without reason. Afterwards the C-Class was very nervous in fast corners and I was not able to score points today.”

Ralf Schumacher (2009 Trilux AMG Mercedes C-Class) 10th: “Here at the Lausitzring it’s almost impossible to overtake and therefore it was not easy for me to move up from last place on the grid. But it was a race without major incidents for me and it was important to find a rhythm and to finish the race. Therefore, I am quite satisfied today.”

Susie Stoddart (2008 TV-Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Class) 11th: “It was a good race for me. After my first pit stop I had a small problem with the brakes and was not able to get the maximum out of the car. It’s a pity, because the C-Class ran very well today. However, I wanted to finish the race and therefore didn’t take chances.”

Norbert Haug, Vice President Mercedes-Benz Motorsport: “Great! Thanks to a terrific drive by Gary today we have now 42 wins more in our account than our competitor. Congratulations to Gary and to the HWA team under Gerhard Ungar and Hans-Jürgen Mattheis – they had the perfect strategy today which they executed in an optimal way; and also the teams of Mücke and Persson were equally strong. Obviously, we were here better than at Hockenheim two weeks ago – all our eight C-Class cars finished within the top 11 positions. Anyway, prior to the next race at the Norisring we have to improve further. Thank you to the circuit operator and to the ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg for the first-class job they delivered here. Thank you to all our guys in the teams: you worked so hard and this is your 1-2 victory!“

Source: Daimler AG